Running (?) Update

The mere title of this post is laughable.  I had to dig into the archives of my website to figure out when the last running update occurred.  Unfortunately, it was back on April 16.  Yes, and even MORE unfortunately, I haven’t run much since then.  Apparently, this whole “baby” thing is going to be more time consuming than originally thought.  And, my latest attempts at completion of this undertaking have been meager walks at best…but at least I’m moving.

For those of you joining us in progress, the goal was to virtually run (and/or walk) from Louisville, KY to Pittsburg, KS in memory of my friend, Melisa Augustson who was murdered in her home in 2001.  It’s a 570 mile trip of which I’m currently 455 miles in.  Below is a map showing my progress.  If you click on the map, you can see a larger version which may show you that I’m just past Marshfield, MO.  Interesting facts about Marshfield to follow the map.

mileclub090309

So, anyway, about Marshfield, MO.  It happens to be one of the more interesting places on my trek.  Why?  Well…

On April 181880, an intense tornado measuring F4 on the Fujita scale struck Marshfield. Its damage path was 800 yards (730 m) wide and 64 miles (103 km) long. The tornado killed 99 people and injured 100, and it is said that 10% of Marshfield’s residents were killed and all but 15 of its buildings were destroyed.[1] According to Ripley’s Believe It or Not!, a baby girl was found sleeping peacefully in the branches of a tall elm. This is believed to be the origin of the children’s lullaby “Rock A Bye Baby.” The child was never identified and was later adopted by a local family.

And…The town boasts the oldest Fourth of July celebration West of the Mississippi River and in the State of Missouri.

Also…The home of Edwin Hubble. The stretch of Interstate 44 through Marshfield is named the Edwin Hubble Highway.

So there you have it.  I’m 115 miles from the goal.  I’d like to reach that by the anniversary of Melisa’s death which would be December 14.  I know, I keep pushing this goal back…but I will achieve it!

See you in the funny papers!

Leave a Reply

