Remembrances

Year 2004, October: Boston defeated the Yankees by overcoming a 3-0 deficit in the ALCS and won their first World Series in 86 years over the St. Louis Cardinals.  I was more excited about Boston beating the Yankees, I think.  But, to see the joy of generations celebrating a Boston championship was absolutely stunning.

Year 1999, December: It was the last day of the millennium and people everywhere were alternately excited and frightened at the prospect of four new digits on the calendar and the impending disaster of the Y2K bug which turned out to be a complete flop.  Also, I think that most people had forgotten about Prince’s song “1999” that we all played to death back in the 80s when 1999 was so far away.  I don’t remember how I spent my evening, but I’m pretty sure I was with friends and we were drinking.

Year 1994, June: I had just completed my worst semester of college ever.  Probably the worst semester of college ANYONE has ever had.  My transcript also shows that I did not go to school in the fall of that year, so it’s safe to assume that in my astounding knowledgeable grasp of the universe, I had decided that a college degree was unnecessary.  And, even though this memory is odd, I also know it was the last time I’d had my mother’s hamburger stroganoff which I miss terribly.  Unfortunately, the day and the meal bring up bad memories.  I hope that one day I can eat it again.

Year 1989, September: My first day of high school, a little fish in a big pond.  I was fortunate enough to have friends in higher grades who I could count on to assist me if necessary.  I also stepped up my lustful longings to include the head cheerleader whose locker was right outside the freshman biology lab.  Thankfully, that didn’t work out!

Year 1984, February: My grandfather, Henry, died today.  I remember, distinctly, every moment of that morning as my mother screamed panic through the phone at my grandmother who had called her and not 911.  I remember her racing past me in the car as I stood in the cold at the bus stop.  I remember asking my teacher permission to go to the office to call home to see if my fear could be confirmed.  And I remember the walk back up the stairs thinking that my sister would certainly be inconsolable, which now that I think about it was fairly grown-up thinking for someone of my age.

Year 1979, August: I started kindergarten today.  I loved my teacher, Mrs. Wilson, who would sing “Swing Low, Sweet Chariot” to us as we took naps on the floor.  I was the only person in kindergarten to have perfect attendance that year.  I still have the trophy which I cherish greatly.  It was probably the last time I really overachieved in school.

Year 1974, December: Okay, so I don’t really remember this, but I was born.  Hank Aaron hit number 715 in April of this year and tornadoes tore through Kentucky and Ohio destroying lots of things…so my appearance in the world was probably not so monumental a thing, but no less important!

See you in the funny papers!

6 thoughts on “Remembrances

  1. Pingback: Baseballbriefs.com
  2. Thanks Lydia. The dates are 5 years apart, but other than that have no significance. They were simply a random memory chosen from that year. So, definitely random other than the spacing. I was feeling reminiscent and this seemed like a good way to go about it.

  3. Hey Aaron,
    Nice post. Isn’t it nice to reminisce – and nicer still to make memories. I usually have difficulties pinpointing particular dates in my life – but its cool to look at those moments in time and imagine what I was doing then!

  4. Thanks Marcia. It is nice to reminisce, even though some of the memories were not pleasant.

    Thanks Glee…I put that first one on there just for you. I didn’t think about it when I first started this post, but it just worked out that way.

Leave a Reply

