NaBloPoMo 2009 – SEA

NaBloPoMo2009 Once more into the fray of that wild and crazy event known as NaBloPoMo, or National Blog Posting Month.  This year, I’m starting out just under the wire as it has been a full day here.  This morning, our daughter was baptized in the Episcopalian church that C. and I joined a couple of years back.  Several years ago, I couldn’t have imagined this moment…the daughter or the church.  I had sort of drifted away from the idea of needing a church community and I’m still on the faith journey as I reconcile it with the ever constant presence of rational scientific evidence.  But, I’ve come to realize that I don’t necessarily need to reconcile the two…and at times, that has made the two distinct disciplines seem to go hand in hand with each other.  Still and all, I truly enjoy the community of this particular church and regardless of your beliefs Aside: or non-beliefs…we’re all inclusive here at the Conspiracy of Happiness! finding a community in which you can share your thoughts, doubts, trials, and thanksgivings with a caring, concerned group of individuals without fear of repercussion or ostracization is truly a joy in life.

Also, this weekend, I was given a treadmill by my parents.  They had an old treadmill that they weren’t using anymore, since they’re at the YMCA about 6 days a week now, and I became the beneficiary of this piece of exercise equipment.  I have my reasons for wanting it, but you’ll have to wait until later to hear about the new goal!  I need to finish the latest goal first.  This morning EARLY I was able toHalloween Cowgirl put in a few kilometers on the old horse and even though I think it made the day even longer, it felt good to be able to go down to the basement and simply run.  I’m looking forward to using it more often.

I hope everyone had a great Halloween.  We didn’t go trick-or-treating, we simply stayed home and handed out candy.  IvyCat was a cowgirl for the holiday event and by all accounts was adorable.  Judge for yourself though in the picture to the right.  However, let me ask this…when did it become kosher for people with babies to go out into the night air and beg other people’s candy for children who aren’t old enough to eat it?  We had at least 3 people last night with kids just barely older than our own trying to snag some chocolate.  Buy your own candy for pete’s sake!  Fortunately, C. has the cojones to turn those folks away at the steps.  I tend to avoid conflict all together and spent the evening watching television.

Okay…I need to wrap this up so that I can get it posted in time to meet the deadline.  I’d hate to start this year’s NaBloPoMo off with ZERO days in a row.  For more NaBloPoMo fun, I’m labeling each entry with a code.  The person who cracks the code wins…something.  I haven’t decided yet.  But, it’ll be smaller than a breadbox…so put your thinking caps on and see if you can’t figure it out.  This first one may not be very helpful, but as the week continues, I’m betting some of you will see a pattern.

See you in the funny papers!

3 thoughts on “NaBloPoMo 2009 – SEA

  1. She is absolutely one adorable cowgirl. Can we get a baby “Giddyup?” 🙂

    Congratulations to her on her baptism, as well. Although I’m a non-believer, I can understand the comfort of a community and the need for a reliable one. I think that can be the best part about organized religion.

Leave a Reply

