NaBloPoMo 2009 – TOR

NaBloPoMo2009This morning, I happened to be in a room where the Today Show was on.  Not on purpose mind you because the last thing I need in my morning is talking heads blathering on about nothing.  Anyway, so there I was and Matt Lauer was grilling a couple of lawyers about some lady named Quinn (I think) and her abduction by someone she may or may not have known and blah, blah, blah, yakkety, yakkety.  My first thought was, “Why am I sitting here?” and my second thought was “Is it really necessary, or proper even, to try a case on public television before the courts have even had a chance?”  I suppose that he wasn’t really trying the case, but the questions were along those lines and while the lawyers were doing much more than saying “No comment” it still seemed to be inappropriate, at least as far as this woman was concerned.

What really got me was that this woman’s apparent bipolar disorder was made public knowledge to the entire country…at least to those who were up at that particular hour…and how this definitely seemed to be an intrusion on private life.  Now, I don’t know the woman, don’t even remember her name, but I’m privy to her supposed medical conditions?  Is this news?  Maybe it was just my fault for being in the room with the TV on to begin with.  I really should know better.  That is why I stick to the radio in the morning, music only, no news other than the traffic report.

In other news, I have a running update for you:

Into the Home Stretch

Yes, your eyes do not deceive you.  I am roughly 15.5 miles from my goal.  I believe that I will be finished no later than next week, possibly even this weekend.  The new treadmill is working beautifully.  I put another 3 miles on last night after my little girl went to bed.  I’m looking forward to finishing this goal and moving on to a new goal which will definitely put my body to the test.

See you in the funny papers!

Leave a Reply

