NaBloPoMo 2009 – MIL

NaBloPoMo2009I’ve debated all day between ranting about a work issue, complaining about the Yankees World Series win, or trying to find some piece of goodness in the world to rejoice in.  I just don’t really have a lot of vested interest in any of it.

I could go on and on about work issues for days, not the least of which is incompetence.  The depth of incompetence continues to astonish me even after nearly 15 years of working for the same university.  However, as I’ve said before, “Thou shalt not blog about work” and to avoid what could potentially be career-shortening, at best, I’m going to leave that where it lies.

The Yankees.  As you no doubt have surmised from repeated readings of this particular blog, there is no love lost between me and the Bronx Bombers.  I dislike the Yankees with an intense passion and it only seems to grow with each passing season.  There was a time when I allowed for the casual observer to ply me with the idea that DiMaggio, Mantle, Berra, and the like were likeable enough and really the Steinbrenner Era is what was wrong with the Yankees.  However, my thoughts now are firmly entrenched that the only good Yankee was Gehrig and even that is tinted by my repeated viewings of Gary Cooper’s portrayal in “Pride of the Yankees.”  I’m not happy they won the Series…it’s immaterial whether they deserved it or not.  I still view A-Rod and Posada with utter contempt because I find them detestable.  I will say that Jeter and Rivera are fine ballplayers, but their association with the Yankees makes them unpalatable as heroes.  I wish the Phillies had won, but as I didn’t even have a horse in the race (Better luck next year Sox!) I’ll just have to live with it.

There is goodness in the world.  I know it.  I’ve seen it.  It’s just that, often times, it’s extremely difficult to find.  Just this hour, there’s the shootings at Fort Hood, the Iowa mom who killed her son, an NYPD commissioner guilty of lying to the White House, H1N1 becomes the dominant flu virus…and those are just the headlines.   I know that the news is quasi-sensational because that’s what drives the ratings, and that’s unfortunate.  Still, these things are happening out in the real world and that’s even more unfortunate.  Just once I’d like to see an entire news program devoted solely to people doing good things and the people that benefit from that.

See you in the funny papers!

2 thoughts on “NaBloPoMo 2009 – MIL

  1. Gah, I can’t stand Posada. I think part of it is that he manages to always come up with the timely hit which is terribly annoying. But, a bigger part is that he always seems to be whining about the strike zone either at bat or behind the plate. He just seems smug and I don’t like him. But I maybe should not have put him on the same par with A-Rod who is a scummy cheater, on the field and off.

Leave a Reply

