I don’t even know what to title this post.

I have a number of things to get through, so just sit down, hang on and stay as quiet as possible.  I realized when I was thinking about this post that my mind kept jumping back and forth between topics…plus, I found a story on NPR this morning which demanded my attention, so today you’re getting it all.  Plus, I know I haven’t been around much since Thanksgiving, so you’re probably starved for attention anyway.  So here goes:

Tiger Woods – I know, you’re probably tired of hearing about it, but I only rarely deign to dwell in the celebridiot world, so indulge me just this once.  I can think of only three reasons why you might cheat on your wife.  One is you’re lonely or bored.  This is the believable aspect of this story as it must be difficult to travel around the world, I assume without your family by your side Aside: although, surely they could afford the extra plane fare and so you search for companionship when you’re away from loved ones.  This is not an excuse and should not be tolerated, but it is a plausible explanation.  The second reason is you’re stupid.  This is not as plausible because Tiger has not shown himself to be anything but intelligent and dedicated, at least on the golf course, and his ability to maintain a top ranking worldwide as well as position himself as one of the top earners in endorsements doesn’t lend credence to the idea that he’s an idiot.  So, he’s not stupid, or at least not obviously so.  That leaves us with reason three which is egomania, and this is by far the most logical of the three reasons.  There is reason to believe that Tiger’s ego Aside: which arguably has only been enhanced by his status, his model wife, and his place as golf’s media darling has created a reality for him in which he believed himself to be infallible or incapable of being caught.  This is, at best, misguided and now that his world has been crumbling around him one would hope that his ego has been sufficiently damaged to show him that he’s not “bulletproof.”  If this is truly the case, you feel slightly bad for him, but not enough to make him the victim, or god-forbid, a martyr.  The real victim in this case is, of course, his wife and I can imagine that she’d want to take a golf club Aside: how ironic?! to his vehicle, or even his head.  Some will say, well, how could he cheat on such a hot woman.  That’s immaterial.  Cheating on your wife shouldn’t involve whether or not she’s hot by some bizarre fantasy standard…it should be based on whether or not you love her, and no one who cheats on their wife can say that they are in love with them.  It’s antithetical.  And that, Intertubes, is all I have to say on the Tiger Woods affair.

Cycling and Road Rage – Pursuant to this article on NPR, I thought I’d add my $0.02 that I’m certain I’ve shared before in this very space.  Cyclists are entitled to the rights and privileges afforded to other vehicles in those very same spaces.  As well, they are also bound by the laws and restrictions concerning those spaces.  There are any number of persons, both cyclists and drivers, who, on a regular basis, fail to heed those laws and restrictions and should be penalized as such.  They are dangerous, literally and figuratively, for those of us who are careful to abide by the law regardless of which mode of transportation we choose.  As a regular cyclist, I do worry about being the victim of road rage…and I have been targeted for verbal abuse on several occasions.  I also try to stay out of the way as much as is humanly possible so as not to be a hindrance to drivers because I know I’m not traveling as fast as they are.  As a driver, I try to consider the safety of both drivers and cyclists when I am driving and I also get frustrated at cyclists who flaunt the rules to achieve their own personal happiness.  This is trite and overused, but “Can’t we all just get along?”  For my part, I’ve noticed that there seems to be a small, but growing, acceptance of cyclists in this city.  Unfortunately, there are still many uneducated cyclists and drivers who contribute to the sad state of affairs as related in this story.   Also, shame on NPR for using an image with this article that plainly shows a cyclist riding improperly in traffic which is direct conflict with the number one cycling tip listed in the article.  At least the guy has a helmet on though.

Christmas – Christmas is coming and there’s nothing you can do to stop it.  There will be lights and music and family and traffic and myriad other things that will delight and annoy at alternating intervals.  My goal this season is to attempt a Zen-like approach and allow all of the noise and chaos to simply wash over me and, hopefully, emerge in the New Year without a holiday scratch.  We’ll see if that works.

New Goals – I had made previous mention of new goals and I had hoped to unveil those at the beginning of this month.   What’s that they say about the best laid plans…anyway, I’m now prepared to announce these goals.  The first of these goals is to run in the Country Music Marathon in Nashville in April.  That’s the full marathon folks…all 26.2 miles of it.  I’m not a country music fan, per se, but the marathon is relatively close in proximity to my home and it’s relatively flat which will be a good “first marathon” for me.  The second goal which will include the first one to some degree is that I’m going to attempt a new “virtual run” that will take me around the perimeter of Kentucky.  I’ve decided to dedicate two years to this attempt Aside: not the least of reasons is that my wife scoffed at the idea that I could complete it in one year and she’s usually right about this sort of thing. which will mean 50 miles per month for the next 2 years.  Round trip…1200 miles.  I will, of course, be showing you a map on a semi-regular basis (per my whims, of course) and in return, I’m hoping that you can donate a little money to a cause.  I’m hoping to use this “virtual run” to generate funds for a cause dear to my heart.  I would donate any money raised to either the “Pennies of Promise” campaign or to an activist organization that supports the banning of mountaintop removal, likely KFTC or something similar.  If you’re not moved by those ideas, feel free to suggest another possibility, or choose not to donate.  My theory is that if you pledge, say, a penny per mile, then if I do manage to go the distance, your total outlay would be $12.00 which is not a great deal of money over the course of two years.  I would hope that some of you with deeper pockets Aside: assuming there are those of you WITH deeper pockets who actually read this would be tempted to wager a bit more on my abilities and if I fall short of the goal…well, then you’ve saved a few bucks.  Either way, the goal starts on January 1 and hopefully I can put together a page for donation collection by then to make it easier for you to support me in this endeavor.  And, for those of you who simply can’t afford anything (which I completely understand) I am also accepting generous helpings of moral support and encouragement.

Finally, because if you’ve read this far down, you’ve really stuck with it for the long haul, I’d like to wish my beloved wife a wonderfully happy birthday.  I know that as we get older birthdays become a little less exciting and a little more annoying, but I always want hers to be special and I hope that she has a great day.  I love you C. and I hope your day is magnificent beyond measure.

See you in the funny papers!

4 thoughts on “I don’t even know what to title this post.

  1. I agree on Tiger Woods and am COMPLETELY TIRED of hearing about it. Almost as tired as I am of hearing “Single Ladies.”

    I heard that NPR story and thought the whole thing was kind of odd. It seemed like they chose weird people to interview and went at it from an odd angle. I do try to respect cyclists and I really need to learn the bike laws (are they different, at all, from motorized vehicle laws?) before I take to the streets again in the spring.

    Christmas. blah.

    Your goals are interesting to me and I’m a full supporter of the cause to end mountaintop mining.

    That’s all.

    Oh, happy birthday to C. and have fun celebrating!

  2. LP, bike laws are for the most part the same as vehicle laws. Obviously, equipment issues arise such as lights, signals, etc. which can usually be accomplished by other means. However, when you ride, you should assume that you are still in a vehicle and abide by all stop signs, traffic signals, turn lanes, etc. You should also expect that other drivers will treat you with similar respect, but be aware that they might not and try to guard against injury as much as possible. Always wear a helmet (though it’s not the law, it’s a damn fine idea) and if there are cycling classes in your area, I highly recommend those.

    And, C. I’m sure thanks both LP and Glee for the birthday congrats.

Leave a Reply

