Best of 2009 Challenge

All my good ideas seem to come from other bloggers.  Today, I wandered over to my friend LP’s blog and, lo and behold, I found her participating in the Best of 2009 Blog Challenge which intrigues me.  The good part of this, for me, is that it is not a command to participate every day which my track record shows quite clearly that I’m not capable.  It also helps to do a little retrospective at the end of the year with which to reminisce and recommend.  To that end, today’s Best of 2009 is Best Book.

The Best Book of 2009 is…The Winter of Our Discontent by John Steinbeck. You really can’t go wrong with a classic, and it seems that my choices were limited because according to my count, I only read *GASP* FIVE BOOKS this year.  Man, having a baby really does take some free time away from you.  Anyway, about the book:  I love Steinbeck.  I think I’ve only ever read one novel by Steinbeck that I wasn’t a big fan of, but almost always I find myself engrossed by his glorious prose and his ability to create characters that I both identify with and sympathize with.  The Winter of Our Discontent is about a man who is down on his luck and has taken a job that he feels is beneath him but it is helping his family to survive.  We watch as he confronts various demons that attempt to sway him from his moral convictions and how that affects his family, particularly his children.

I also enjoyed Einstein’s Dreams by Alan Lightman this year.  It was an interesting look at various realities that Einstein might have dreamed in his years as a patent office clerk in Switzerland.  They were short and varied which made for easy bedtime reading.

So…look for more Best of 2009 from the Conspiracy of Happiness.  This promises to be an interesting look back at the year.  Also, feel free to post your own “Best of…” in the comments section, which seems to be woefully underused these days.

See you in the funny papers!

9 thoughts on “Best of 2009 Challenge

  1. Einsten’s Dreams is one of my favorite books. Read it in college – the elegance of the prose – and the fact that the author showed some restraint and kept it to the number of pages it needed to be…I really appreciated that. Time for a reread.

  2. Glad you’re a part of the #best09 tribe that Gwen initiated! I loved Einstein’s dreams. Read it way back in the ’90s. Maybe I should pick it up again. Enjoyed your post and look forward to more.
    Julie

  3. So fun. Discovering you from my twitter friend @juliedaley. Your blog made me smile. I’m still smiling. This Gwen challenge-thing is full of surprises! Looking forward to visiting again soon. 🙂

  4. Welcome to Gwen, Julie, Mynde and Peppered and thanks to LP and Gwen for the Best of 2009 Challenge. I’m glad you’ve all visited the Conspiracy of Happiness. Oddly, my wife C. didn’t care for Einstein’s Dreams, but I found it intriguing. I’d love to read it again and really steep myself in each particular dream scenario to imagine it on it’s own, rather than simply plowing through to the end. Anyway, I hope you all will hang around the Conspiracy for a while and enjoy some of my other writings.

Leave a Reply

