Best of 2009 – Packaging

Well, I know it’s been a while since I posted and I believe that if you go back through the archives, you’ll find that this part of the year is particularly hectic for me.  This year is no different and, honestly, it seems a little bit more chaotic in some ways with the baby Aside: though, I know, those of you with children will merely shake your heads with that knowing look because you’ve already been through this before…it’s new to me C. even made a “Christmas Stress List” after our trip to see The Nutcracker see the Events page for more which ennumerated the myriad things to be done before the actual day descends upon us.  To quote the mother from “The Middle”… Christmas is HARD!

Anyway, the point of this post is to talk about the best packaging of 2009.  This seems like a very odd thing to post about, but me being the odd person that I am, I really have an entry for this.  Recently, I ordered some items from Dr. Bronner’s because their stuff (the soap, the lip balm, and the shaving gel) is amazing and it’s good for the earth AND it gives me something to read in the shower because their bottles are covered with text.   But what excites me even more is the package that it came in.  All 3 things were wrapped very tightly together with bubble wrap and placed in a box just slightly larger than all the items and the extra space was filled with cornstarch peanuts.  It was pretty much the most environmentally friendly packaging of anything I’ve ever ordered and that made it an even better purchase.

So here’s to Dr. Bronner’s and their excellent packaging.  And, I highly recommend their products.  Anyway, back to Christmas!  I’m trying really hard to stay in the Christmas spirit.  I haven’t done that too well in previous years.  This year seems to be going well.  I’ve been listening to Christmas music a lot more, I’ve tried to be a little more jolly in my own sarcastic way…and, I didn’t curse under my breath a single time while waiting in line to see Santa Claus last night.  I’m actually looking forward the event which is a change from recent memory, although, it’s only the 15th, so we’ll see how it goes.  I have decided that you can’t have Christmas without the following:

  • Thurl Ravenscroft singing “You’re a Mean One, Mr. Grinch”
  • Bing Crosby singing “White Christmas”
  • Lou Rawls, Peggy Lee, and Burl Ives
  • Elf and National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation
  • pointing out the hideous Christmas inflatables that you would never, under threat of death, have in front of your house, e.g. Santa playing poker at the North Pole

See you in the funny papers!

4 thoughts on “Best of 2009 – Packaging

  1. I’ll have to check out the Dr. Bronner’s stuff.

    I agree with lots of your Christmas stuff, although I’d add Charlie Brown’s Christmas special (which was pre-empted in my market by Obama’s healthcare speech…let’s not get into healthcare, I’m sorely disappointed at the removal of the public option) and Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer.

    Also, are there inflatables that you WOULD have in front of your house? I wouldn’t even have one of those inflatable Wildcats!

  2. Oooh, Charlie Brown…absolutely right. I’m not sure about Rudolph…is that the one with Burl Ives as the snowman? If so, got it covered, but if not, is it the one with the Island of Misfit Toys? Then…yes, that too.

    No, I’d pretty much avoid any inflatables. I suppose if IvyCat wanted a snowman or something, we might consider it…but that day is far away. But, some of those inflatables are not only un-Christmas-y, but they’re geographically incorrect. Penguins playing poker at the North Pole?! Impossible! Penguins live at the South Pole.

    And you will LOVE Dr. Bronner’s. It’s my new favorite product of all time.

  3. Rudolph has BOTH the Burl Ives snowman AND the Island of Misfit Toys. How can one go wrong with those two wondrous inventions of animation? (Also, see the scary snowdude whose name I can’t recall.)

    I love Coca-Cola. I love polar bears. I do not, however, love commercials that wrongly teach the world’s children that polar bears and penguins play nice on the the same iceberg. Not gonna happen. Two different poles!

    I can’t wait for Dr. Bronner’s stuff to get here!

Leave a Reply

