Best of 2009 – Shop + much much more

According to Gwen Bell’s Best of 2009, today’s category is shop…online or offline.  Now, I don’t do much shopping, probably not as much as I should if you were to really take a hard look at it.  But it’s just not my thing.  I don’t prefer to shop.  Still, I do the occasional gift buying, particularly for my wife, but sometimes just for me.  To that end, I believe I have a couple of recommendations

  • Schulz’s Florist is the best florist in the city in my opinion.  I mean, it’s the only one I shop at and my wife is tremendously impressed with their arrangements.  Their online presence is currently undergoing renovation, but I’ve found that the best way to buy flowers is always to go pick them out yourself.  The staff is always helpful and friendly and I apparently go there enough that they remember who I am.
  • Swag’s Sport Shoes is where I do all my running shoe shopping.  They’re knowledgeable and friendly.  And, according to their website, I’m not the only one who thinks so…they’re one of the top 4 running stores in the country.  I just completed a purchase there last night Aside: Thank you D. for the gift certificate and pictures are soon to follow of the new adidas Supernovae that will carry me to my marathon goal.

Now then, since I last posted, I entered a new age bracket.  I turned 35 on Wednesday.  There was some fanfare, but as it was an extremely busy day, the excitement was mostly muted.  I did, however, have a very nice birthday.  To help celebrate that fact, I’m posting here a list of things that I had written down on my thirtieth birthday of things that it had taken me that long to learn.  The first 20 are the originals.  I’ve added a few more at the end to cover the last 5 years.For your edification:

20 things it has taken me 30 years to learn

  1. Pre-drill the damn holes.
  2. Don’t lie…ever!
  3. You may not be responsible for the whole earth, but you can be responsible for yourself.
  4. Fractions really are important.
  5. Write it down…twice if necessary.
  6. Your parents can teach you most everything you need to know, but you’re not going to listen anyway.
  7. Take pride in the way you look because many people judge you based on that very look.
  8. Swearing changes nothing…but it does relieve some pressure.
  9. The batting cage and the shower are the two best places to think.
  10. Credit is a vicious thing.
  11. Pick your team and stick with them.
  12. There is a lot of gray area in matters of religion, politics and ethics.
  13. Just because you can lift it by yourself doesn’t mean you should.
  14. Don’t take somebody’s word for it, explore your interests for yourself.
  15. Health and wealth both contribute to happiness, but you can be happy without one of them.
  16. Keep the protractor you buy in grade school.
  17. A good book always beats a good television program.
  18. Keep an umbrella in your car.
  19. Being mean doesn’t help you or the person you’re mean to.
  20. If you don’t want the world to know your secret, don’t tell anyone.
  21. A decent cup of coffee almost always has either chocolate or whipped cream.
  22. Just because you started the movie doesn’t mean you have to finish it, although if you paid for it, you might as well.
  23. There is no better relaxation than a well-timed nap.
  24. You can sleep anywhere with a decent pillow.

So there it is, my collective wisdom over the past 35 years.  I would say, for the most part, it has been a good three and a half decades and I can only hope that the next 35 will be as good.  This is also my last day of work for the year which is very exciting.  I’m looking forward to some time off to be spent with family and friends.  However, I do hope that this is not the last you’ve heard of the Conspiracy for the year.  Surely there will be more in coming days.  Stay tuned!

See you in the funny papers!

Leave a Reply

