Oh, good, I haven’t missed it.

I have a fairly well documented dislike of the Christmas season.  For me, it has become an overblown collection of infectious songs, energy-sucking light displays, and colossal waste of human resources to ensure the happiness of a very few individuals.  However…and I know that you’ll want to keep reading because it will be beyond belief that I have penned these words…I believe that I may have found myself some of that old Christmas spirit that everyone keeps yammering on about.  For the last decade, and probably even before that, I found Christmas to be a chore, an unnecessary evil that needed to be dealt with simply to maintain social convention.  I participated, but I disliked practically every minute of it. This year will be an exception.

Now many of you will claim that it’s due to the birth of my daughter this year and while I must admit that she’s been the absolute joy of my life these seven months, she is not the reason for my shift in Christmas jollity.  Some will claim that even a blind squirrel finds an acorn on his very best day.  This may be true, but the law of averages demands that I would’ve had Christmas spirit well before now if that were the explanation. No, the truth is, the return of my Christmas spirit was due in no small part to a group of people I’ve never met before and who have very little idea of their impact on me.  Truth be told, many of them may be feeling the exact same way I do.  And, lo and behold, this very saving grace occurred to me during an evening at the theatre with the in-laws.

Last night, we ventured out to Actor’s Theatre of Louisville to see A Christmas Carol.  Truly, it has been many, many years since I’d seen this classic nugget.  I believe, even, the last time I saw it, Mickey Mouse was playing the part of Bob Cratchit.  I had lumped it in with a great many other holiday classics that the mere mention of make my eyes roll and my mouth groan and had avoided it like the plague.  Yes, Virginia, that includes such schmaltzy nuggets as Miracle on 34th Street, It’s A Wonderful Life, and even, A Charlie Brown Christmas.  Yep, I had become the Scrooge of all curmudgeons and was firmly planted in my dislike of Christmas.  But, last night, I became unstuck.  There were several moments during the play where I found myself wiping away a tear and truly enjoying Christmas; remembering why there are reasons to celebrate this season.

I have been blessed in this life with family and friends and I know that this is the true wealth, the true happiness.  And to that end, I wish you all a wonderful Christmas season and a joyful New Year that might bring you the same happiness that I’ve been given.  And, just to show you that I’m not above tacky and overly sappy…God Bless Us, Everyone!

See you in the funny papers!

Leave a Reply

