Up for air

Well, it seems that posting on this blog is going to be done sparingly, at best.  Many of you, my loyal readers Aside: provided there are any of the 3 of you left will no doubt notice that it has been some time since I posted anything and some of you may have even written me off which I suppose I deserve.  In an effort to do better, I’ve devised a scheme to help us both out…me by posting more, you by gaining more insight into my world (as if you really wanted that!)

I really enjoy the Olympics.  At least, I enjoy some of the Olympics.  There are some sports I could care less about and some of the drama is a little yawn-worthy in my opinion, but nothing brings a tear to my eye like a truly deserving athlete scoring some Olympic bling Aside: are we still using “bling” as a term?  I’ve been gone a while. and choking back emotion during the medal ceremony.  Anyway, for the next several days, I’ll be relating to the various Winter Games sporting events with little vignettes about myself.  Should provide very interesting fodder.

Today’s sporting event: Luge

This particular sport is what prompted the return to blogging for me.  When my daughter awoke last night around 2 a.m., C. and I both woke quickly and C. got up to attend to her needs.  Now lest you think I’m one of those rotten bastard husbands who lets the wife do all the work when it comes to babies, let me assure you that this is not the case.  While I don’t always personally feel as if I’m contributing equally, I believe that we both maintain a balance of caring for our daughter. So what does this have to do with luge?  Good question.  So, after my wife got up, I settled back into the warmth of our bed and I realized that I fall asleep in luge position: flat on my back, head slightly raised (on the pillow), arms at my sides, toes pointed inward.  How bizarre!  I mean, why would I be thinking of the luge at two in the morning?!  Anyway, to further ground this story, lest you think this the simple ramblings of a madman who is moderately sleep deprived, I present a further luge relation.

When I was growing up, my sister and I would spend a large amount of time hanging out with our godmother, D.  She is not like other godmothers in the fact that she practically lived at our house.  I grew up setting the table for five, and it was a rare occurrence when she did not join us.  We loved spending time with her and still do.  She could be counted on to participate in the activities that parents would rather not engage in…nothing illegal mind you, just rambunctious fun that is not your typical parent fare.  My mother always said it was like sending three kids out into the world.  On with the story…one weekend, we ventured out to a local water park, and by local I mean we probably drove an hour or two, so this was no small event.  As with all water parks, this one had a water slide which might be, second only to the trampoline, the most fun a kid can have in the summer.  Well, D. was never one to shy away from entertainment, she didn’t just drop us off with beer money and sunscreen, no, she participated.  So…this water slide, at one part near the middle it was covered, so rather than a half pipe, it was a fully enclosed tube.  This was only the beginning of the fun.  My sister and I went down several times, and D. decided to go down with us once as we seemed to be having so much fun.  Well, we were able to watch from a railing as she descended.  She started out luge style, feet first on her back…somewhere in the tube is where the hilarity ensued…she emerged clutching desperately at the raft she started out on, head first, legs flailing, shouting something unintelligible interspersed with “whoa” and “help.”  I literally thought I would pee my shorts with laughter.  I could’ve gone home right then and there as she splashed down into the wading pool at the end because that simply made my day.  This story, among many others involving D., is retold with alarming regularity at various family gatherings.  I hope that this makes your viewing of the luge in future years even more exciting.

On a more somber note, it is with sadness that we acknowledge the passing of Georgian luge athlete, Nodar Kumaritashvili.  A true Olympian whose tragic death serves as a reminder that life is fleeting and we do not have much time to be a joy in the hearts of others.

See you in the funny papers!

2 thoughts on “Up for air

  1. Again, Aaron, it took me straight into a good ole belly laugh! I will NEVER forget that day as well as all the others. For instance, the day at Taylorsville Lake! It sure brought back sweet memories! I cherish those days as well as the time spent together now!

Leave a Reply

