The goodness of Spring

Today…today was a good day.  It didn’t start out all that well, but it turned out pretty wonderful.  This morning, I was exhausted.  I really wanted to go back to sleep.  I was at a work event in Indianapolis on Wednesday and Thursday, and this morning, well, I really just wanted to sleep in.  However, it turns out that I’m an adult and I can’t just slack off when I want to.  Not to mention, I really like my new job.  I know that this is not something you ordinarily hear from me, but I’m intellectually stimulated by this position.  And, the work in Indianapolis was even MORE exciting.  I’d love to tell you about it…but I’m walking that thin line about “blogging about the job” which I do not do…so let’s just say that it’s going to provide some great events for some deserving individuals this summer.  Anyway, I digress.  So, this morning, I got geared up and as we were getting IvyCat ready for school she started gagging.  Now, chances are that this is related directly to teething and/or possibly some sort of small bug.  She’s fine now (thanks for asking!) but since I’m an adult AND a parent, I needed to stay home with her to make sure she was okay and that she didn’t spread it around.  So, like I say, she’s fine…but we got to spend some wonderful time together today.  She was just the right amount of clingy, snuggly but not fussy Aside: You parents know what I’m talking about and since it was such a beautiful day, we got a chance to be outside a little bit.  IvyCat absolutely LOVES being outside.  She enjoys fresh air and sunshine…and who doesn’t really.  Plus, a visit by the grandparents and a trip to the ice cream shoppe (for the adults, not the kid) really made it outstanding.  But, here’s the kicker.  While we were outside, I got a chance to sit on the front steps with my daughter and this was one of those moments that it became clear why people have children.  I really enjoyed being a father today.  She sat there like the best little girl in the world, taking in all of the action…leaves blowing, cars driving by, people walking their dogs…and I just smiled, openly and in my heart.  It was the best feeling I’ve had in years.  I look forward to many, many more of these days!

See you in the funny papers!

2 thoughts on “The goodness of Spring

  1. LOVE this — and love those times. For us they’re getting even better — she talks! She sings! We have jokes together! Hard to beat, you know? Enjoy every moment. 🙂

Leave a Reply

