Who should take the most heat for the present state of the economy? Obama or Congress? Explain your answer. (LOL! Felt like a high school teacher writing that.)

Man, I never get easy questions. What about something like, where’s your favorite place to sit and think? Or, what are your top 5 songs for driving? Instead…I get this.

Still, a question’s a question. And, I believe you’ve limited my options unnecessarily. I’d like to blame the cancellation of "Studio 60" and the New York Yankees for the current economic crisis. Actually, in all seriousness, the current state of the economy (which is actually, in my humble opinion, looking better these days) can be traced back to the incredibly poor decision-making by the banking industry and their ties to the housing industry which collapsed in on itself back in 2005-6. And, to paraphrase Lewis Black, we all knew this was coming back then when our neighbors were selling their houses for six times their original value and all we could do was look around and say "we’re fucked." But it happened, so here we are.

Now, to answer your question, using your limited options, I’ll have to go with Congress. And, here’s why: Obama can come up with the options, but he requires Congress to approve them. He can’t just unilaterally decide to up and change things. That’s one of the great things about our government is the system of checks and balances. So…Congress, Republican or Democrat controlled makes no difference, is responsible for the current state of the economy. At least, in my very limited understanding of how things work, this is how I see it. If you’d like a better answer, you’re gonna have to find an economist.

Ask me anything

3 thoughts on “Who should take the most heat for the present state of the economy? Obama or Congress? Explain your answer. (LOL! Felt like a high school teacher writing that.)

  1. I’ll agree with Congress as an answer but would also add –

    What about Bush administration tax cuts that couldn’t sustain themselves? How about a dual-fronted war that is sapping every single resource we ever thought about having? Why not the War on Drugs, where we spend billions of dollars a year trying to enforce vice laws?

    Not explaining my answers. 🙂

    1. Kylydia…I think all of those are good possibilities. And, when I sat down to write, I really didn’t think that the economy could be tied to just one entity. But, the folks who write in asking political questions generally want me to “hang the Democrats” in some way. And, there’s no need to explain your answers! 😀

      1. Oh, I know. I was just feeling the need to rant, today. Still annoyed from having to pass by some sort of “Freedom” rally at the Capitol over the weekend.

Leave a Reply

