Developmental success

Back in the day when I worked in a different department here at the university, they were absolutely wacky for this thing called a SWOT analysis.  For me, it didn’t mean much, and to be honest, it really doesn’t mean much still…but I thought the idea might make for a good blog post.  We’ll see.  Plus, look at me now, one third of the way done for NaBloPoMo this year.

So, anyway, a SWOT analysis identifies your Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities, and Threats for a previously identified goal.  For the purposes of this post, my goal will be a happy, healthy life.  Here goes nothing:

Strengths

  • I’m dependable.  I can be counted on when necessary.
  • I have a deep sense of moral integrity.  I know what’s right and what’s wrong and how to tell the difference.
  • I’m punctual.  If I’m late, there’s something wrong.

Weaknesses

  • I’m a procrastinator.  I like to wait until the last minute to do something.
  • I don’t take compliments well.  It’s not something I’ve ever been accustomed too.
  • I’m not great with follow-through.  I have a tendency to start things and not finish them.

Opportunities

  • Being a great husband and a great father.  It is within me to become this person.
  • Effect change on a local level.  I can be more involved in my community in a variety of ways.
  • Completing my master’s degree.  Education is a huge boost to my capabilities.

Threats

  • Airplanes.
  • Spiders (see Airplanes above).
  • Uncompassionate people.

That, for me, is it in a nutshell.  And, this was quick and dirty.  I’d love to sit down with people I know and really hash more of this out.  Over wine, maybe?!  Who’s in?  Anyway, maybe you see something I missed…or maybe you’d like to do your own.  I recommend it, if for no other reason than you get a blog post out of it.

See you in the funny papers!

Leave a Reply

