Freedom, or not.

I was stunned when I read that the ruling military junta in Myanmar (Burma) had released Aung San Suu Kyi.  I really didn’t think that it would ever happen.  Here is a woman who, since being democratically elected, has been mostly under house arrest for the last 21 years.  And, yet, she has been nothing but a peaceful guiding force for the people of Burma who desire a democratic nation.  And still, my first thought was that they would end up killing her ultimately.  My second thought was that she would be re-arrested for some trumped up ridiculousness and would be incarcerated again.  How is she free?

I can not imagine living in a world where my every move is scrutinized and I am constantly watching behind me for the other shoe to drop.  And, to live in this same world and work for peace and democracy is almost sheer madness.  I have a difficult time getting up in the morning and picking out an outfit for work and making sure I can get myself and my daughter to school on time.  I’m apparently not made for stronger things.  Or possibly, I would be if I lived in Aung San Suu Kyi’s world.  But, I doubt it.

I wait with interest to see how this evolves.  I hope that she is a beacon of light and hope for the people of Burma and that one day soon her message is accepted in that realm.   And, I hope that she’s there to see it as well.

See you in the funny papers!

Leave a Reply

