Oh, I went there

The two phrases I want you to take away from this post are “ensemble cast” and “unmitigated joy.”  Now, that’s settled, here’s what I need to tell you.  This post is late, which recently isn’t all that uncommon, but I have a good reason this evening.  C. and I just enjoyed a cinematic treasure.  What celluloid masterpiece could have prompted such an incredible introduction?  Wait for it…wait…

Whip It

I know what you’re saying.  I see you shaking your heads.  I can tell that you’ve lost faith in the ability of this blog to provide anything worth reading.  And, for those of you who need to follow the link to even know what I’m talking about, go ahead.  I’ll wait.

Okay, good.  You’re back.  Now, see, you’re giving me that shamed look that the others were giving just a few moments ago.  But, you have to believe me when I tell you that this movie was awesome.  This movie rocketed up into the Office Space stratosphere.  Office Space, you say?!  Yes…Office Space, the movie I’ve seen more times than Star Wars.  The movie that I stop to watch every time I run across it on television.  Whip It is the new Office Space.  It’s about roller derby.  It’s about coming of age.  It’s about parenting.  It’s about love.  It’s about consequences.  It’s about everything in life and it is an outstanding movie.

Sure it’s crazy.  It’s completely ridiculous.  But, at the same time, it’s heartfelt and meaningful.  It is hilarious.  It is action-packed and it had me absolutely enthralled for pretty much the entire film.  The scenario, the locations, the story.  If you have not seen this movie, go now and find it.  Hit redbox, or Netflix, or onDemand…whatever it is that you need to do to see this film, do it.  If you have seen this film, and you didn’t like it, I feel sorry for you.  You do not understand what it is means to have joy in your life.

And…speaking of joy, check out this photo of my girl, IvyCat…pure joy!

Ivy Catherine

And that, my friends, is halfway through NaBloPoMo!

See you in the funny papers!

3 thoughts on “Oh, I went there

  1. Don’t know about the movie – but the pictures – just love ’em!!! My granddaughter started ‘walking’ last week – and is making some progress – but to see her run like Miss IC will be amazing!

  2. Lydia…it was very good wasn’t it. My wife was surprised I liked it as much as I did.

    Mar-cee-ah…she’s pretty amazing isn’t she. And, I’ve seen photos of your granddaughter, she’s a real cutie. Yes, the running follows the walking fairly quickly.

Leave a Reply

