Giving Thanks

It’s the perennial moment in our nation’s history where we sit back from the table and loosen our belts from all the turkey, stuffing, cranberry sauce, insert your family’s traditional food here, and roll gently toward the media glow box to feast on football.  Yes, it’s Thanksgiving, which, it turns out may or may not be the anniversary of the Pilgrims’ survival of the first winter in the New World.  Regardless, it is a time when we gather with friends and family and offer thanks for all the blessings that we’ve received.

I’m thankful for my wife, who puts up with my incessant punnery, my goofy nonsense, and my consistent procrastination all with a minimum of eyerolling.  She is, quite simply, the most wonderful woman a guy could ever marry and she’s my best friend.

I’m thankful for my daughter who, with every step she takes, invites me to share in her world.  Each new day is an exciting new look into things we, as adults, overlook and it provides new challenges and opportunities for her to grow into an amazing human being.  She is the most beautiful, loving, intelligent little girl I’ve ever known.

I’m thankful for my family because they are ever present even when I don’t call or visit.  I know that I can reach out at any time and share joys or pain and they will be there.  They are a constant source of love and support that can not be underestimated.

I’m thankful for friends who lend an ear, a hand, or a smile just when I need it.  We don’t see each other nearly as often as we used to…we also don’t drink as much as we used to either…but we are still a part of each others’ lives.

I’m thankful for my job, particularly when so many don’t have one.  I’m also thankful that I love my job so much.  It is quite exciting to be a part of a team that really has a goal in mind and is achieving that goal on a regular basis.  It’s also a lot of fun to be around so many intelligent and interesting students who are working hard to achieve that goal.

I’m thankful for my home, again, when so many are losing theirs.  As with most homes, there are things I’d love to have different, but it has a certain charm and it manages to provide a safe, warm, environment for those who live here and for those who visit.

Finally, I’m thankful for my health and for the health of those I love.  We may complain from time to time of a cough, or allergies, or what have you, but to be generally healthy is a good percentage of being happy and I’m thankful for it.

Have a great Thanksgiving wherever you are and whoever you share it with.  If you’re unable to share it with people you love, please share it with someone who may not have as much as you.

See you in the funny papers!

Leave a Reply

