Nearly there

Then the clouds opened up and God said, “I hate you, Alfalfa!” – Alfalfa (The Little Rascals, 1994)

Boy, it certainly is difficult to go back to work after a long weekend.  It’s even more difficult to go back when your car won’t start.  Ha ha…yes, in tribute to my complete inability to be handy, this morning the car played opossum once again.  So, we know it’s not the battery, which means it’s probably something more prohibitively expensive.  SUPER!  It sure is nice to phone the folks at AAA and have them just whisk it away.  If only they’d replace it in the morning, like the tooth fairy or something.

Plus, to round out the morning, I made the stunningly bad decision to attempt to walk IvyCat to school.  I put a light jacket on her (strike 1), I did not take a stroller (strike 2), and she would not walk so I carried her most of the way (strike 3).  Fortunately, for my sake, she did not suffer any hypothermic ill effects as we are in the midst of a fairly mild autumnal season.  She was sad and had cold hands and my arms were aching by the time I had the good fortune to run into my friend, N., Aside: Thank you dear sister for helping a brother out who took us the rest of the way to the school.

To recap…I am not handy or mechanically inclined in any way.  I’m a poor decision maker and a fairly inefficient parent.  I’m not in nearly as good shape as I once was.  And yet, nobody died.  The world continued to spin on its axis and the day was not a complete loss by any stretch of the imagination.

In other news, Irvin Kershner, director of “The Empire Strikes Back” died this weekend.  The world will miss this cinematic genius.

See you in the funny papers!

Leave a Reply

