One Word

Encapsulate the year 2010 in one word. Explain why you’re choosing that word. Now, imagine it’s one year from today, what would you like the word to be that captures 2011 for you?

Not nearly as easy as it sounds.  Choosing one word to conjure an entire year’s worth of life.  I suppose my word for 2010 would be: Beginning.  After looking over the posts for 2010, I found myself beginning different things.  Beginning running again after illness, beginning school, beginning a new job, beginning to see life through the eyes of a toddler.  So, I suppose 2010 was sort of a rebirth for me and it seems to have been, for the most part, a good beginning to that rebirth.  And, I am so very thankful for the lessons and attitudes from this year.  I’m also mindful of the many things that I need to work on for the coming year.

Now, the word to describe 2011 a year from now…I can’t imagine.  I suppose, given how well this year has gone from certain standpoints, I would like for the 2011 word to be: Sustain.  Naturally, there are things I would love to reinvigorate, like running, and I’d like to shoot for new goals, but if I could simply sustain what has happened over the course of this year that would be a major accomplishment.  I guess we’ll take a look back in a year or so and see if it happened.

See you in the funny papers!

2 thoughts on “One Word

  1. Oooh, I like Sustain. There are so many parts of my life that I’d like to just keep right where they are, because they are so great, right now. But, I can remember thinking that years ago, too, and it’s all gotten way better since then!

Leave a Reply

