The End of the World (As we know it)

No.  No.  …and NO!  I mean, I don’t know for sure, but I’m gonna go with my own prevailing wisdom and the fact that this farcical “end of days” is based on some weird biblical interpretation and high school math.  If you don’t know by now, the world is supposed to end tomorrow, so if it does turn out to be true, then most of you aren’t gonna read this anyway.  Honestly, I’m sort of rooting for the Mayans to be right, which would buy us all another year and a half.  Truth is, I’ve spent enough of my 36 years in churches to know the verse Matthew 24:36: But about that day or hour no one knows, not even the angels in heaven, nor the Son,but only the Father.  So let’s all just calm down, shall we?

Unfortunately, all this hoopla just makes Christians look like a bunch of wacky Chicken Littles who have waaaay too much time on their hands.  I’m not the most devout Christian, but I still claim the title, mostly by default since its what I’ve grown up with.  Still, this makes those of us who aren’t total wingnuts embarrassed to say the least, but it borders on offensive because its obvious that they don’t spend much time reading (or understanding) the book they proclaim to know so much about.

Still, if people disappear tomorrow I’ll certainly be surprised, but not shaken because they’ve been warning us about it for a while now, and we should’ve been ready.  I’m as ready as I’m gonna get, but I’m not likely to be whisked up into the clouds.  The good news, knowing my friends as I do, is that I’ll still have somebody to go drinkin’ with.

See you in the funny papers! (in the morning)

5 thoughts on “The End of the World (As we know it)

      1. Sharon, my friend Ryan knows absolutely nothing about the Bible despite decades of attending church camp. *laughing* Seriously though, 1 Cor. 5:1 is an inside joke, one of much hilarity if you know the players, but could be misconstrued in the wrong context.

        Even so…still very funny.

Leave a Reply

