Happy New Year

Based on the Gregorian calendar, we’ve entered a new year. I haven’t done a lot of research on other calendars, so we’ll just go with that for now.

For those of you who missed me last year, sometimes I just need some time away in order to rejuvenate. So, while you didn’t have anything much to read the last half of the year, it was time well spent on my part. A recap (just to catch us up):

I had the opportunity to be part of an outstanding program at the university which brought both the CIA Director General David Petraeus (pre-scandal, of course) and international icon for freedom Daw Aung San Suu Kyi to lecture. Both were incredible experiences, but to be in the room with Daw Suu and experience her grace and quiet tenacity was a spectacular moment I’ll not forget.

We welcomed a son into the world on my mother’s birthday. Joshua Martin was 8 lbs. 9 oz. and 20 1/4″ long. He quickly became a fan favorite of my daughter, Ivy Catherine. Everyone came through the birth healthy and his first Christmas was filled with smiles, his and ours. Unfortunately, we also said goodbye to “Pop-Pop,” my wife’s grandfather. Cliff was a fun gentleman who liked to watch me eat. He was much more to his family and we will all miss his laughter and his friendly gruff manner.

I spent part of the summer participating in a production of  HMS Pinafore which was the first time in 20 years I had been on stage. It was challenging and exciting…and that’s just the beard which I grew for the part of the sailor. Thankfully I had this to take my mind off the worst season of Red Sox baseball in recent memory. Fortunately, the powers that be saw fit to remove that chancre Bobby Valentine after a miserable showing of every sort except his ego.

I have begun reading more. Unfortunately, I’m exercising less. Our new home has become as a well-fitting glove, and while I despise mowing the much larger lawn, I relish the opportunity to chop my own firewood. It’s odd, I know…but the splitting of the logs seems peaceful to me, even if my back has yet to forgive me.

So…here’s to a new year. I’m hoping to make it more productive both at work and at home. I plan to make more of an effort reading and writing, and less time spent watching television. These are not resolutions, as such. These are more lifestyle changes that I hope to implement. Hopefully you’ll be able to see me blossom into a more refined individual…and if not, well, some things never change.

See you in the funny papers!

 

One thought on “Happy New Year

Leave a Reply

