The Real Election

Many of you are caught up in the hoopla surrounding some sort of election happening soon.  This includes my wife who left a night of playing Wii with the Neighbors early to watch the Iowa caucus results.  But, the real election happens today with the results being announced tomorrow.  That’s right…the election to the Hall of Fame.  For those of you not familiar with the ballot, here are the candidates:

  • Brady Anderson
  • Harold Baines
  • Rod Beck
  • Bert Blyleven
  • Dave Concepcion
  • Andre Dawson
  • Shawon Dunston
  • Chuck Finley
  • Travis Fryman
  • Rich “Goose” Gossage
  • Tommy John
  • David Justice
  • Chuck Knoblauch
  • Don Mattingly
  • Mark McGwire
  • Jack Morris
  • Dale Murphy
  • Robb Nen
  • Dave Parker
  • Tim Raines
  • Jim Rice
  • Jose Rijo
  • Lee Smith
  • Todd Stottlemyre
  • Alan Trammell

I would vote for the following if I were allowed to vote: Blyleven, Dawson, Gossage, Mattingly, McGwire, Parker, Rice and Smith.  Now, there are those who would say that I was crazy for voting for/against several of the names on this list…but they probably don’t get to vote for.  I’d vote for the players I picked because of their playing statistics.  Regardless, we’ll know the winners tomorrow and there won’t be a recount or any Supreme Court intervention (hopefully!).  And Spring Training is a mere five weeks away…WOOHOO!

5 thoughts on “The Real Election

  1. I had to get all the way to Don Mattingly in your list before I could figure out which Hall of Fame you were talking about. 🙂 I do bake apple pies, so I’m still a Real American, even though I don’t watch baseball. I hope your picks make it!

  2. Oh, baseball is my life. I don’t think McGwire will make it because of the steroid issue and Dawson is probably a long shot this year, but the rest are certainly valid entries into the hallowed hall.

  3. Everyone you mention is worthy…sorry to say most of them will probably wind up falling short again this year, but it surely is as wide-open as any year of voting with no “slam-dunk” entrants. Yes, it is great just a few weeks until “pitchers and catchers” report for Spring Training!

  4. I would like to see Rice get in, being a Red Sox fan and all. I think that he doesn’t get as much press as some of the other guys and he was a rather fearsome hitter. Still, you’re correct, there are no perfect candidates like in previous years.

    I can’t wait for Spring Training.

Leave a comment